olivia jones: Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides Will Count Towards Account Storage from Next Year
Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides Will Count Towards Account Storage from Next Year
Google has recently revised its storage policy alongside Google Photos for users using Google accounts. This policy will be applicable from June 1, 2021, onwards, wherein new Google Docs, Slides, Forms, Sheets, Drawings, and Jamboard files will be counted for the free 15GB storage that you get for your account.
Similar will be the case with Google Photos. The newly introduced policy will not be affecting the files that would have been uploaded to Google Photos before June 1. But these files will be treated by Google as new ones if you try to modify them after the policy gets applied on June 1. Google will be treating these files as new files, and they will then be included in your 15GB data storage capacity that is evenly distributed across Google Drive, Google Photos, and Gmail.
From June 1 onwards, Google has also planned to make several changes in its policy with which it handles the accounts that are inactive and the accounts whose storage limit exceeds. Google has clearly stated that if a user hasn’t used a Google service for over two years, all the data related to that particular service will be deleted by Google itself. However, this thing won’t be happening on a sudden note. According to Google, you will get notified about this at least three months prior to the deletion. You will receive notifications about these actions through emails. If you want to avoid all this, you will have to keep your account active. Keeping your account active is very easy, and you don’t have to trouble yourself much for that. Also, Google will recommend you to have a periodic visit to your Gmail account, Google Photos, and Google Drive, from whatsoever platform you are signed in to your account.
Similarly, all the data that exceed your storage quota will be deleted by Google after two years. The content may be from Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. In this case, also, you will be notified by Google well before it deletes all your data. You can avoid this from happening either by removing unnecessary files or purchasing additional storage from Google One.
So, this was all about the revised policy of Google for data storage. Google has initiated this move at a time when over 4.3 million GB of data is getting uploaded daily over Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. Google believes that this is the best way to offer an excellent storage experience to the users and fulfill the growing demands.